Only the Beginning

My name is Monica, and I live in Bucks County, Pennsylvania. Ever since I was a baby, my family, in particular my dad, has called me, “Peach.” I always thought that this nickname just reflected my peach-colored skin while I was little. Today, I have found new meaning in this nickname.

People commonly use a peach to express how life is going smoothly and comes along with a positive connotation. I have always tried to be a positive person, and my close friends and family tell me how I am very positive.

You are probably familiar with the term, “Georgia Peach,” meaning a girl who people want to be around and who was born and raised in the southern state of Georgia. To me, being a “peach” means being a person that others want to be around. I was born and raised in Pennsylvania, and think others really enjoy being around me. Hence the blog title, PA Peach.

I am currently a freshman in college, and at my school, all freshmen must take a writing-intensive seminar focused around an idea. My seminar was entitled, “The Pursuits of Happiness.” The course explored both positive and negative emotions to ultimately allow we students to create our own method to find happiness.

“We hold these truths to be self-evident: that all men are created equal; that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable rights; that among these are life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness.”

Thomas Jefferson, The Declaration of Independence

Everyone has the right and the ability to live a happy life. It is not, however, a matter of finding happiness among the chaos in life; happiness must be created by those who wish to have it in their lives.

Through this blog, I hope to increase my own happiness level by expressing my thoughts in a new, creative way. I also hope that I can help others achieve higher levels of happiness . I am excited for this journey that lies ahead, and I cannot wait to see where it takes me.

Go out and create happiness for you and others.

Monica 

Leave a Reply

