Why Create Happiness?

If you wish to be happier, you need to create your own happiness. It will be nearly impossible to simply find it.

Typically we are told that at some point in life we will find happiness. We are left sitting around and waiting for that moment. We don’t know when it’s going to come, or even if it will even come. As we sit back, we miss many opportunities that could make us happier. Instead of being passive and waiting for your happiness to appear on a silver plater, be proactive and create your own happiness.

Try to imagine that improving your happiness is like painting a blank canvas. Your life is like a large, blank canvas. Anybody can have a canvas. Once you have the canvas, it is up to you as to how it will look. You can paint it as much or as little as you want. Painting the canvas is being proactive about making yourself happier.

You may be wondering, “How can I create happiness in my own life?” The process of creating happiness is different for everybody. Some people create happiness through investing in their career or their personal lives. Currently I create happiness in my own life by helping others and by investing in myself. I love helping others. I volunteer regularly at a local community center after-school program for elementary and middle school children. I love the energy they have. The kids are always excited to see me and the other volunteers; a second-grader once told me that seeing us on Thursday is her favorite part of the week. I also create happiness by investing in myself. I invest in myself through focusing on my education, finding friends who care about me, and do what I love to do despite what others will think.

“I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.”

Maya Angelou

I found that I became a happier person once I found how to balance selfishness and selflessness. There are times when you need to put others’ needs before your own. I believe, however, that there are many times when people need to embrace selfishness. It takes time to achieve a balance between these two conflicting ideas, and I am still working on the balance in my own life.

Creating happiness is something anybody can do, regardless of age, wealth, race, or gender. Through creating happiness in your own life, you will be able to help others increase the positivity in their lives. Make the most of every situation and in turn you can create happiness wherever life takes you.

Monica

One thought on “Why Create Happiness?

Leave a Reply

