New Years Resolutions

We’ve all told ourselves we would stick to our resolution to be more productive, lose weight, make more friends, and start a new hobby. How many of us, however, have actually followed through on our resolutions from January 1 to December 31? We’ve all been guilty of neglecting our resolutions. Why is that? Is it because we are just lazy or too busy with our daily lives? Do we think we aren’t capable of achieving the goal? Everyone has a different excuse. Let’s make 2017 different; let’s finally achieve our goals.

Goal setting can be challenging. We want to aim high, but still want something attainable.We don’t want to fail, so we underestimate our abilities and set very easy goals. The problem in not completing New Years Resolutions lies in our fear of failure. We would much rather succeed than fail. When we succeed, we feel good about ourselves and others take time to acknowledge your great deeds. When we fail, we feel incomplete and incompetent. I have had moments of failure both academically and socially. I let these failures get to me, and they forced me doubt myself. I would feel sorry for myself and would feel pretty down for a while. Recently I’ve come to my senses and realized that self-pity does no good. People need to learn from their failures so that they don’t repeat their mistakes.

One way I am going to stick to my New Years Resolution is being a realistic optimist. Realistic optimist may sound like an oxymoron. I want to be realistic about the outcome of my resolution. However, I want to challenge myself and be optimistic about what I can accomplish. By being a realistic optimist I can carry the goal through the entirety of 2017.

“Write it on your heart that every day is the best day in the year.”

Ralph Waldo Emerson

2017 will be another crazy year; it will be full many ups and downs. Despite what 2017 throws at you, make the most of every moment. Being happy is in your control. If you cherish everyday and the people in your life, you will be able to create a happier life for yourself and, in turn, make others’ lives happier. Believe in your own abilities and create a New Years Resolution that will challenge you yet be attainable. No matter what happens, make the most of this year and every year after that. If you do that, you’ll live a much happier life and be much more satisfied over the course of the year.

I wish you all a happy and healthy 2017.

Monica

Leave a Reply

